It was a Monday in October in the Philippines. You'd expect rains with lots of it unexpected. At one point I decided to go out for some dinner and (as usual) announced it to interested guests at the hostel (MNL).

My invitation got one yes - it was Oscar - one of Spanish guests at that time. We've had casual chats in the last few days about photography and trivial discussions about culture and travel in the hostel.

So we headed out while it drizzled without me telling where we're headed. All he needed to know is that we're going somewhere to eat. We walked to the only place I know still open at that time, NextDoor Noodles (by North Park) in Makati Avenue.

We sat, marveled at the bountiful choices in their menu, and finally decided on what we both wanted for dinner. Oscar didn't want noodles nor chicken at that time - he went with the Lechon Macau (over rice) bowl. I was craving for some well-cooked chicken and decided to go for the Hainanese bowl.

Oolong tea, rain, new dining environment - I had to say I'm glad to see Oscar seem to enjoy this new place. He told me about his dining experience(s) in Taguig (The Fort area) and how terrible some of the food were. I had to mention that I go for places where the food is decently priced and justified ... since I rarely eat in posh restaurants. It was my first time dining with him so I'm wasn't sure if he really liked this one.

The food was served and we casually talked about light subjects. From photography, gadgets, iPhones, and I suppose how material things easily weigh in on someone's identity.

"The new generation forget that the iPhone is just a tool", Oscar said.

I gently added , "I think it's what you use it for. We tend to forget what's important is the people we communicate with (it) - we can replace our phones any time we want, but not the people we care about".

I went further and analogized how it's the same for cameras & photographers. We both agreed that you don't need the best or latest camera to produce the best photos. You work with what you have and you capture the right moment.

... and then he interrupted the conversation saying, "let me show you the best photo I have taken."

Curious as always I hesitated to ask, "seriously, you have chosen the best photo you have taken in your entire life?". I cannot believe how a professional photographer can pick just one - that sounded ridiculous since I'm sure there are many good candidates in his portfolio.

"Wait a moment, I show you ...", Oscar pulled the phone in his pocket. He pressed the home key. The backlight activated. A photo of a lady in scrubs showed on the screen.

I was slightly confused to see a woman in what seemed to be a hospital. It was a portrait of her, looking at the phone's camera albeit seemingly weak and content.

Then Oscar said, "my mother - this is the best photo I have taken."

He was sobbing quite a bit while I politely asked what happened. Oscar didn't answer my question directly, citing that this photo was taken only 3 months ago - and that Alzheimers is probably the worst disease one could ever have.

"I'm very sorry to hear that", I muttered and tried to share my condolences. But I was also more adamant to know why this is the best photo he has taken.

"You know, it's not about the cameras or the production - it's about capturing the moment and the story with your camera.", Oscar said with slightly more tears in his eyes.

Seeing his emotional response, I can see that his mother is very dear to him. My mind then fondly scanned for photos that triggered the same emotional response and I accidentally pulled the one with the dog we lost this year (Enzo).

For confidential purposes I'm not going to publish why it's the best photo for Oscar. All you need to know is how special his mother was - not just as a teacher (aged 75) - also as a remarkable cornerstone of her community. A life dedicated to guiding and influencing other people with a relentless passion in cultivating one's potential into making smart decisions. She was loved and will forever be, not just by her family - but also by the hundreds of lives she touched in her time as a teacher.

BY THE WAY - Oscar thinks he's liking Metro Manila a little bit more than he originally expected. I encourage you to ask him about his best photo when you get the chance to meet!